Not Your Average Treat

Hello everyone! I apologize for not posting again at the end of last week like I had said I would,
I was a little more busy than I had anticipated!
The short vacation with my family was quite lovely. I am also sorry to say, I have no pictures
for you all because I was having too much fun to take any! Ha! Anyway, when I got home, I had
to get to thinking about what to do for my friend’s bachelorette party. So, here we go–this is what
I did::

Cake Batter Rice Krispy Treats  and  Chewy Cookies and Cream Bars
yum yum yum!

(Both of these recipes are kid friendly!)

Cake Batter Rice Krispy Treats

What you need:
– 3 tablespoons of butter
– 1 (10 oz) bag of mini marshmallows
– 1/3 cup of yellow cake mix
– 6 cups of Rice Krispies cereal
– sprinkles (colorful!)


(I save money by buying off-brand products.)

(Also, have a baking pan ready and cover it with wax paper. Once you’ve done that, spray the wax
paper with cooking spray. Trust me, this will save you a sticky terrible mess.)

Step one:
Melt the butter in a large saucepan over low heat. Once it’s melted, pour in those mini marshmallows
and stir them up until you have a gooey delicious mess.

Step two:
Sprinkle in the cake batter mix, and stir it up really well. (The flavor of the cake batter will be subtle–
taste the marshmallow mix, if you want it to taste more like cake batter, don’t be afraid to add more!)

Step three:
Remove the mix from the heat and pour in the Rice Krispies cereal and some sprinkles, and mix it all
up – making sure to coat all of the cereal.

Step four:
Press the yummy gooey mess into the wax paper covered pan you have already prepared and sprinkle
more sprinkles on top!

Step five:
Wait for them to cool completely. (If you’re a little impatient like me, pop them in the refrigerator for
about 15 minutes. Once they’re cool, pull the wax paper out and cut them into squares. (It would also
be pretty fun to cut them with cookie cutters to make shapes – but if you’re going to do so, have a mallet
hammer or something to make it easier on you. Ha!)

Mmmmm… so good.
Well, that’s it for those!

Chewy Cookies and Cream Bars

What you need:
– a pack of Oreo cookies
– 1 (10 oz.) bag of mini marshmallows
– 3 Tablespoons of butter

Step one:
Crush the Oreo cookies. You can put them in a blender and pulverize them, but I prefer them to  have
a similar size to the Rice Krispies cereal. What I do is put them in a ziplock baggie and beat them up.
Go ahead, take out your built up daily frustrations.

Step two:
This step is exactly like Step one from the Rice Krispy recipe above!

Step three:
Once you have that yummy marshmallow gooeyness, remove from heat and mix in those crushed oreos.


drool….

Step four:
Press the mix into a wax paper covered pan sprayed down with cooking spray. (You’ll want to spray your
hands too–trust me, you’ll be so thankful you did!)

Step five:
Wait for them to cool and then cut them into squares. (Make sure to grease the knife you’re going to cut
these with. They’re more sticky than the Rice Krispy Treats!)

Yum!

For chocolate lovers and cake lovers alike!

These are so super easy, and you should go make some!

(It’s also possible to make the marshmallow mix in the microwave if need be. Just put the butter and
marshmallows in there together for 15 seconds at a time. Just stir it up between each time. It took me
just over 30 seconds to do this. Just keep an eye on it, because those marshmallows can burn easily.)

Enjoy!

Probably gained a few pounds,
Ashley.

Comments
2 Responses to “Not Your Average Treat”
  1. Jamaal Tesch says:

    Excellent post. I was checking constantly this blog and I am impressed! Very useful info particularly the last part 🙂 I care for such info a lot. I was looking for this particular info for a very long time. Thank you and good luck.

Leave a Reply

  • Congratulations! You scrolled all the way to the bottom! Not everyone does that, but you're different and I really like you. :] Please leave a comment and let me know what you think of the site.
  • Contrary to popular belief it IS possible to leave a comment on here without being a "member". You can click "Guest" and just type in your name and email. (Don't worry, your email will not be displayed in any way.)
  • Or you can login with your facebook or twitter account! Either way, it's totally possible! Ha! I love you guys and I can't wait to hear from you!
