Here we are – September

The other day Jason took me to a drive in theater (yes, they do still exist-and yes, they are a lot of fun).
Well, on the way home from our late night out, we passed this random sign on the side of the road that
said “Will we see you in September?” and immediately I was reminded that the “dreaded September” was
a week away. Well, here we are. It’s September, and I’m waiting and watching to see how God redeems
it like He said He was going to do. I’m honestly excited, and that says a lot in and of itself.

Let me share a little what happens in September here in the US.

  • This month is officially National Preparedness Month. Yep, that’s a real thing…
  • This year we have a 9/10/11, which I think is pretty cool. (I have friends who are getting married on this date.
  • The Jewish New Year (I say the Spiritual New Year) begins sundown on the 28th this year. This is called Rosh Hashanah and lasts for two days. (28th-30th) Look it up, it’s fascinating.
  • International Talk Like a Pirate Day is on the 19th. (Definitely be expecting a whole post in pirate lingo!)
  • International Day of Peace is on the 21st.
  • Autumn begins the 23rd at 5:04 am EDT. Yep, that’s the exact time. Ha!
  • Labor day is the first Monday, which will be the 5th this year.
  • National Grandparents day is the first Sunday following Labor Day, which will be the 11th this year.
  • Of course, we have Patriot Day on September 11th.
  • In Germany, Oktoberfest is at the end of September, and if you live here in Georgia you can celebrate in Helen! Hahahaa!
  • Hispanic heritage month starts on the 15th and runs until October 15th.
  • Strangely enough, we also have German American heritage month at the same time!
  • In many countries, this is known as the Harvest Month, particularly because barley is most commonly harvested now and has been for… pretty much ever.

So, there’s that… haha. I’m going to make it a point to just sit back, and cast all my cares upon the Lord
this month. I know He loves me, and I know He’ll make it all right. He is going to redeem September, and
I’m going to watch the trees be set ablaze by His love. They will turn warm colors because of His sweet
presence, simply to counteract the cool breeze that blows in from the North.

Leave a Reply

  • Congratulations! You scrolled all the way to the bottom! Not everyone does that, but you're different and I really like you. :] Please leave a comment and let me know what you think of the site.
  • Contrary to popular belief it IS possible to leave a comment on here without being a "member". You can click "Guest" and just type in your name and email. (Don't worry, your email will not be displayed in any way.)
  • Or you can login with your facebook or twitter account! Either way, it's totally possible! Ha! I love you guys and I can't wait to hear from you!
