“let that be enough”

Often I feel my world is quaking and the ground is crumbling beneath my feet
But reality is, it’s only me that’s shaking and I’m the one causer of my defeat.


What it feels like…                                                                                                                        Reality.
[earthquake in Haiti]                                                                                             [tuesdaycomic.com]

In 1 Samuel 1:4-5 Hannah is given a double portion of the sacrifice by Elkanah, her husband,
because he loved her-but as we can see in 1 Samuel 1:8 she is not eating – instead she is crying
and being sad and focused on the fact that her womb was closed. It’s important here that she
is not eating the portion already given her. She was not delighting in the blessing already set
before her, instead she grieved over the blessing she did not have. God does answer her prayer
and gives her Samuel, and then many children following, but she was miserable until then.
I personally do not want to live this way. I know all of this with my mind, and I can quote
scripture all day, but until I live in the blessings I already have-I will not get what God has
promised.

Same goes with all of us. This doesn’t only have to apply to babies. We all have blessings in our
life, whether it be the love of a close friend or significant other, a roof over our head, a job, or
the rain. We need to do like people have told us all along and “count our blessings”, because
until we take responsibility and are thankful for the things we already have, we will not be
given more. Want to live somewhere else? Take extra care of the place you live now. Want
to fall in love? Try to wrap your mind around the love Christ has for you. Want new clothes?
Be thankful that you actually have some and maybe try to clothe someone who has none.
Tired of eating the same old thing? Be glad you have food at all!
Want to have a baby? Be grateful for the love of your husband.

“Let me know that You hear me
Let me know Your touch
Let me know that You love me
Let that be enough.”
-Switchfoot

Honestly, let that be your prayer. It’s been mine this weekend.
I’m not asking you to do anything that I myself am not practicing. I am simply learning as I go
and I want to share with you–maybe make it a little easier. It’s always nice to know that
someone else out there has struggles too. Hopefully this made some sense… and if it did not,
I apologize. There are days where I just need to write, especially on cold wet days like today.

If you take nothing else from this, just remember, be thankful for what you have and maybe
pretty soon you’ll get something more.
[Like this pup here, be grateful for what you have, and when something sweet comes along,
it’ll be that much sweeter!]

[megustacomic.com]

I love you all! And I hope you have had a lovely weekend.
May God bless you through the rest of this week with kisses raining from Heaven.

Ashley.

[ps. keep an eye out! Tomorrow is Tuesday, and that means I’ll be posting something tasty!]

^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^
[EDIT: I totally meant to say Wednesday there!!]

Comments
2 Responses to ““let that be enough””
  1. Stephanie (mom) says:

    Wow this is beautiful!!! 🙂

    ps nope today is tuesday!!

Leave a Reply

  • Congratulations! You scrolled all the way to the bottom! Not everyone does that, but you're different and I really like you. :] Please leave a comment and let me know what you think of the site.
  • Contrary to popular belief it IS possible to leave a comment on here without being a "member". You can click "Guest" and just type in your name and email. (Don't worry, your email will not be displayed in any way.)
  • Or you can login with your facebook or twitter account! Either way, it's totally possible! Ha! I love you guys and I can't wait to hear from you!
