A Healthier Option

Well, all of the yummy things I’ve posted up have been guilty pleasures and hip growers.
Today, I’m going to show you how I USUALLY eat!
Buffalo sauce. Yep, I eat it all the time-on everything! I usually eat Frank’s RedHot Wings Sauce
and the best part of that sauce is that it has zero calories! Yeah, seriously! It does have a decent
amount of sodium in it, but if you’re drinking the amount of water you’re supposed to everyday,
this is not an unhealthy amount. [Unless of course your doctor has you on a sodium restricted
diet–if that’s the case, there’s a reason you have to cut back on that sodium.]

See! I’m not lying! Zero calories… I was totally shocked when I noticed this just a couple weeks
ago! Now, I’m not telling you to eat this all the time–it’s not considered a “health food” or anything,
it’s just delicious and guilt free!

[TIP:: The least amount of water to drink everyday is half of your body weight in ounces–for
example, let’s pretend I weigh 120lbs.–I would have to drink at least 60 ounces of water
everyday. Easy peasy!]

ANYWAY! Enough with the hot sauce, here’s a way to eat it!

Yep, that’s a salad.

Let me just tell you, I don’t usually like “girl food”. I’m all about the hot wings, burgers, and
fries. So when it comes to eating “healthy” I like to figure out ways to eat healthier without
it tasting like a tree.

So, here we have:
-iceberg lettuce (1 cup=8 calories! It’s a good source of thiamin, vitamin B6, iron and potassium, and a very good source of dietary fiber.)
-grape tomatoes (1 tomato=2 calories A good source of potassium, phosphorus, magnesium, and
calcium, and also a good source of fiber.)
-rotisserie chicken breast (1 ounce=27 calories This is all good quality protein here, B vitamins,
especially B6, niacin, iron, and vitamin A.)

A total of 37 calories that still tastes a little like a tree…
Add the zero calories of the hot sauce, and you have a buffalo chicken salad! I love love love
bleu cheese, but don’t keep it around all the time so I use a dollop of sour cream (26 calories
per tablespoon). A “dollop” usually ends up being two tablespoons or so-but still, even with
two tablespoons this yummy lunch is only 89 calories! And trust me, it doesn’t taste like
licking a tree!

For me, the only problem with salads is that I’m usually hungry again in 30 minutes, but
strangely having the hot sauce helps-the cayenne pepper can give you a feeling of being full.
And of course chicken helps! Yum yum!

A “girly food” that decided to man up. Oh yes.

Well, I hope that maybe I could inspire you to try to make healthy food taste delicious! I bet
I could get Jason to eat this! I’ll have to try soon, and let you guys know how that goes.

Live a thankful, healthy life!
Ashley

Comments
2 Responses to “A Healthier Option”
  1. MoonHug says:

    It looks very simple
    I think I’ll like your food

Leave a Reply

  • Congratulations! You scrolled all the way to the bottom! Not everyone does that, but you're different and I really like you. :] Please leave a comment and let me know what you think of the site.
  • Contrary to popular belief it IS possible to leave a comment on here without being a "member". You can click "Guest" and just type in your name and email. (Don't worry, your email will not be displayed in any way.)
  • Or you can login with your facebook or twitter account! Either way, it's totally possible! Ha! I love you guys and I can't wait to hear from you!
