Seashell Projects and a New Month

(photo via Flickr – credit: Ricardo y Marta)

Hello! So, I just got back from our Bible study retreat on Saturday. We stayed in Port Richie, FL and
went to multiple beaches. Let me just say that Clearwater, FL is BEAUTIFUL although I would have to
say that my favorite part of the trip was going to Honeymoon Island State Park. The water is so mild
and there were seashells EVERYWHERE. Because of this, I brought home lots and lots of beautiful
seashells!

Now that you know all that, that leads me into today’s DIY projects.
The many things you can do with these seashells!

I personally plan on spray painting many of my shells with silver metallic paint to look like Pottery Barn’s
silver shells that are beautiful and shiny! They’re great for the holidays–you can still keep the beachy feel
of a room while bringing the holidays in.
I also think it would be nice to spray paint them a flat white to really show off the shape of the shell.

(click photo for tutorial)

Another fun thing to do is to turn your seashells into candles! Just pour in your wax and set your wick in
there and you’ve got yourself a cute little candle.

(click photo for the tutorial)

These seashell shadow boxes from It’s the Little Things That Make a Home are lovely!

(click photo for tutorial)

I also think that making lights like this is such a cute and easy idea, thanks to Martha Stewart!

(click photo for tutorial)

Obviously there are many many things you can do with those seashells you collect on every
beach trip you go on, and these are only a few! I’ll be sure to post up pictures when I finish up
my seashell projects so that you all can see!

Man oh man, I’m ready for a nap. I’m exhausted from trying to deal with a little flea problem!
Hey, maybe next week I’ll teach you how to get rid of those pesky fleas naturally and not so
naturally. You can decide which way you prefer!

Have a wonderful week, you guys!
And by the way, WELCOME TO OCTOBER!
-Ashley

Comments
4 Responses to “Seashell Projects and a New Month”
  1. Truck Loader says:

    I have read a few of the blog posts on your blog these few days, and I truly like your way of blogging. I added it to my favorites site list and will be checking back soon. Please check out my site too and let me know your thought.

  2. This really is an incredibly exciting write-up to go through. Are grateful for writing this and please come up with more articles similar to this.

Leave a Reply

  • Congratulations! You scrolled all the way to the bottom! Not everyone does that, but you're different and I really like you. :] Please leave a comment and let me know what you think of the site.
  • Contrary to popular belief it IS possible to leave a comment on here without being a "member". You can click "Guest" and just type in your name and email. (Don't worry, your email will not be displayed in any way.)
  • Or you can login with your facebook or twitter account! Either way, it's totally possible! Ha! I love you guys and I can't wait to hear from you!
