Those Pesky Fleas.

Over the past couple of weeks, we’ve had a little bit of a flea problem. I thought I had killed them all
before I went out of town, but when I got home our poor cat was covered. Today, I can say she has
none. What did I do? More like… what did I NOT do?!

Well, in order to save a little money I tried some natural and frugal ways to deal with these pesky
little bugs.

First, I used equal parts baking soda and salt to sprinkle on the carpet. (Yes! This DOES work. The
salt will dehydrate the eggs and the baking soda will kill the fleas.) You have to stay on top of this.
You sprinkle it on the floor and brush it in so you can’t see it anymore and just leave it. I left mine
for a couple of days and then vacuumed it all up. I repeated this process a couple of times. And it
went great! There were no more fleas there for a few days.
Then I went out of town.
When I got home, they had been multiplying on the poor pets!

[Zoe (left) and Hannah (right)]

What had I done to protect them?
Well, in doing some research, I found out that these fleas do not like anything citrus, lavender,
peppermint, rosemary, eucalyptus, tea tree oil, oregano, cinnamon, and many more things.
So I decided to infuse my own oil. I simply went with things I had around my home. I took olive
oil and put a little bit of peppermint oil in it, some dried lavender, some fresh oregano, and
cinnamon. Did I mention that it smelled divine? I rubbed a little of this onto my hands and rubbed
it onto Zoe’s coat and brushed it in. I watched little fleas scurry away from this oil!

I also sliced up a couple of lemons and boiled them down in some water for about 30 minutes or
so and used that to brush onto her fur as well.

Both of these things seem to be working wonders. The only problem is, these are a little difficult to
brush into Hannah’s fur! So those fleas were still living on her and then jumping onto Zoe.

We decided to get a flea preventative to help us out, so we bought the Hartz brand to see if maybe
the cheapest brand would be effective. Surprisingly this did nothing. The fleas stayed just as they
were, chewing up the poor kitty. We decided to use Advantage. (This is what my family has used
and it totally works.) It’s more money, about $50 for a four month supply. We put it on Hannah last
night, and there are no fleas on her today! So if you want a quick fix, this is definitely it!
If you want something a little cheaper, there is a brand called PetArmor — and it has the same
ingredients as Frontline. I hear it’s great! The best part about it is it’s just under $30, which is cheaper
than Advantage and Frontline.

(Here’s a strange thing to do. At night, take a bowl of soapy water and place it under a night light. When
you get up in the morning, you’ll find little fleas floating in the water! They love the light, like most bugs,
and they try to jump into it, only to fall to their soapy demise.)

Anyway, things are looking up. I have only seen two fleas today!

I wish you the best in your fight against those obnoxious little bugs for the health of your home and family!

Comments
9 Responses to “Those Pesky Fleas.”
  1. Shaun says:

    So flees don’t like anything that smells good is the main point I took away from this. Luckily I have an entire arsenal of cologne to battle the rascally little dudes 😛 lol

  2. Curtis says:

    You pretty much said what i could not effectively communicate. +1

    My blog:
    internet anbieter und dsl vergleich

  3. Roseanna says:

    I’m impressed, I need to say. Really hardly ever do I encounter a blog that’s each educative and entertaining, and let me tell you, you have hit the nail on the head. Your idea is excellent; the issue is one thing that not sufficient individuals are speaking intelligently about. I am very pleased that I stumbled across this in my search for something relating to this.

  4. An attention-grabbing dialogue is worth comment. I feel that it is best to write more on this matter, it may not be a taboo topic however usually individuals are not sufficient to talk on such topics. To the next. Cheers

  5. I discovered your blog site on google and verify a number of of your early posts. Continue to maintain up the very good operate. I simply extra up your RSS feed to my MSN Information Reader. Seeking forward to studying extra from you later on!…

Leave a Reply

  • Congratulations! You scrolled all the way to the bottom! Not everyone does that, but you're different and I really like you. :] Please leave a comment and let me know what you think of the site.
  • Contrary to popular belief it IS possible to leave a comment on here without being a "member". You can click "Guest" and just type in your name and email. (Don't worry, your email will not be displayed in any way.)
  • Or you can login with your facebook or twitter account! Either way, it's totally possible! Ha! I love you guys and I can't wait to hear from you!
