Recipes for the Body (part 1)

So, it seems everyone is talking about trying to save a little money here and there, because
let’s face it, money is tight for many of us. In order to save a little money myself, I’ve been
experimenting with many home made beauty products. (All ingredients coming right out
of the pantry!)

Obviously, today’s  DIY post is to teach you some of these recipes in hopes to to save you
a nice chunk of money.

Amazing beauty products (food for the body):
Water
Baking soda
Olive Oil
Apples
Salt
Sugar
Lemon
Avocado
Apple Cider Vinegar
Corn starch
Cocoa powder

Now, if you’ve never heard any of these tricks, I’m sure you’re looking at some of those items
wondering what in the world those are for. Don’t worry, you’ll understand soon enough!

Let’s start off with water.

(photo credit: NoodleKiddo)

You’ve heard me say it before, and you’re going to hear me say it again. Your body needs
water. The LEAST amount you should drink a day is half of your body weight in ounces.
For example, let’s say I weigh 110 lbs. (wishful thinking) I would have to drink 55 ounces.
That’s 6.875 cups. Let’s just round that up to 7 cups. I should drink at least 7 cups of water
every day.
(Yes, we hear people say everyone should drink 8 cups of water a day, but there is more to
it than that, obviously. If someone weighs 150, they should be drinking at least 75 ounces,
which is 9.375 cups! So, they should be drinking about 9 1/2 cups. It’s different for every
person. )
Anyway, now that you understand all of that, water is necessary for our beauty too! It keeps
our skin hydrated and supple. This should always be the first beauty product you use in the
morning! Drink four cups in the morning to stay energized and alert throughout the day. When
our bodies begin to become dehydrated, we become tired, lethargic, and find it hard to concentrate.
We’re all familiar with the mid-afternoon fatigue, not enough water is often the culprit!

If you notice that your lips look a little wrinkled or dry, increase your water intake. It’s not fun
to put on your lipstick only to notice that your lips are lacking a little luster.

Our next beauty product is baking soda.

-Whitens teeth!
Put toothpaste on your toothbrush like everyday, only this time, sprinkle a little baking
soda on top. Brush normally and watch the stains melt away! Just a warning, this isn’t the
best tasting stuff-which is why I recommend using it along with the toothpaste. You can
do this every two weeks or so to keep stains away.

-Gentle exfoliating face wash.
First wet your face. Then sprinkle a little baking soda in your hand and add a little water
to make a paste. Rub this all over your face, and then rinse with warm water. You’ll have
fewer blackheads, fewer breakouts, and smooth skin.

-Shampoo.
It’s become a new fad to go “poo free” over the last few years. To do this, wet your hair
first, then put about a tablespoon of baking soda in your hand with just a little water to
make it a paste, then rub this onto your scalp. Rinse you hair thoroughly. I like to use a
hair brush to help make sure I get it spread all across my scalp and to make sure I get it
all rinsed out. You’ll have more manageable full bodied hair. Trust me!– you can also add
a little honey into the paste-it’ll give your hair a beautiful shine.

-Silky skin.
Sprinkle baking soda into your warm bath, and soak. Your skin will feel silky smooth when
you get out.

-Treats cold sores.
Yep, it’s true, just dab a little on to help treat it.

-Treats bites, itches, burns and aches.
I know this isn’t totally beauty related–but it works. If you get a bee, wasp, or mosquito
sting/bite, just make a paste with the baking soda and a little water and dab it on the spot
that hurts or itches. If you have poison ivy or an itchy rash of the sort, sprinkle baking
soda into your warm bath, and soak. If you have sunburn, take a spray bottle and fill it
with cool water, then dissolve 1/4 cup of baking soda in it, and spray it directly on your
skin. It’s refreshing and helps stop the pain. Toothache? Make a mouth wash with a heaping
spoonful of baking soda and a small cup of lukewarm water.

The next beauty product is olive oil.

This one is my favorite. Make sure to use 100% extra virgin olive oil.

-Facial moisturizer.
I use this on my face at night! I put just a little onto my hand and rub it gently onto my
face. No, it will not clog your pores like many other oils. The molecules in this oil are too
large to do so. It coats your face and gives your skin a chance to do what it’s supposed to.
It regenerates and keeps it’s young look much longer.

-All over moisturizer.
Of course, it’s a great moisturizer for the whole body. Ashy skin, just rub some of this on
and your skin will begin to heal itself. Many other lotions and things we put on our bodies
on a daily basis actually have types of alcohol in them which will dry your skin over time.
Why? Because the alcohol helps hold in the scent. Even lotions that do not contain alcohol
can also dry out your skin. I’m not telling you to just up and stop using lotions that you
adore! I have a few myself that smell amazing that I’m not totally willing to just give up. If
this is the case, squeeze a little bit of your lotion into your hand and mix in a little bit of olive
oil into it. You get the scent of your favorite lotion, but the lasting glow of the olive oil. I think
it’s the best of both worlds!

-Mends split ends, shines up dull looking hair, and helps an itchy dry scalp!
Split ends? Rub olive oil onto your hair’s tips and leave for at least 30 minutes before washing
out. Dull looking hair? Just coat all of your hair in the olive oil and leave in for at least 30
minutes. For a dry itchy scalp, pour a little directly onto the top of your head and begin to rub
it in all down your scalp. Smile as that terrible itch melts away. I like to rub my head with my
fingernails or a hairbrush for a few minutes to really get the full effect. Let this sit for at least the
30 minutes as well, but I recommend at least an hour – depending on how bad it is. I’ve left it in
my hair for a whole day before! If you’d rather, you can put it in before bed and just wear a
shower cap.

-Nail health.
Rub it onto your cuticles and nails if they’ve become dry and brittle.

-Lip gloss.
Simply that. A non-sticky, beautiful shine lip gloss. Want it to smell good with a hint of color?
Mix in a little bit of KoolAid mix. Seriously, it’s good.

[edit 10/19/11:: I can’t believe I forgot this one!! Make up remover! I just dab a clean
cotton swab in a little
of the olive oil, making sure to ring out the extra, and just wipe
my eyes with it. It takes almost no
effort to take off eye makeup, even very dark
eyeshadows, waterproof mascara, and waterproof
eyeliners. Be careful not to squeeze
any into your eye, by the way. I did this once! It will not hurt you, you’ll just see a
little blurry for a while.]

Next up is apples!

If using apples on your skin, make sure to always use organic, or buy from a local farmer’s
market that uses no pesticides. You don’t want that on your skin, it’ll just counteract what
the apples do best.

-Zit zapper!
It’s true. Just take a slice of apple, and boiling water over it and wait until it becomes soft.
When it’s warm-not scolding hot anymore- take the apple and put it on the pimple. Leave
for twenty minutes and peel off. Wipe with a damp cloth. This will speed up the healing
process.

-Weekly toning treatment.
You can do this once a week, and you’ll see acne begin to improve! Cut an apple up into
pieces and put them in a blender until it becomes pulpy juice. Lay down and apply this like
a mask to your face. Leave for 20 minutes and rinse.

-Dandruff control.
You can use pure apple juice to control dandruff. Just rub it through your scalp and let sit
a few minutes before you wash it out.

Next, we’ll do sugar and salt together because I use them interchangeably on a regular basis.

Use sea salt for the body, it works wonders in comparison to table salt!

-Body/facial scrub.
I do this about once a week. I take salt, or sugar depending on what I have extra laying
around the house and put it into a small bowl or container. Next I take olive oil and pour
just enough in to make it a paste.-You can do more or less, depending on how you like
your scrubs. Just rub this on your body – I recommend standing in the tub or shower for
an easy clean up – and rinse. You’ll have buttery soft skin. You can use this on your face,
just use gentle pressure. I like to leave the olive oil on my skin usually, although not always
on my face. If I’m going to just be at home all day, sure, but if I’m getting ready to apply my
makeup, I’ll wash with a mild facial wash – like the baking soda I told you about earlier.

-Even skin tone.
Do everything like I said before, just add the juice of a lemon into the mix!

Which brings me to our next item – lemons!

-Hard white nails.
Take half of a lemon and stick your fingers into the fruit. Rub your nails in it, making
sure to release the juices. Just let your fingers sit for a minute, then rinse. If you have
paper cuts or anything, be careful. I like to put a little olive oil on my cuticles first to
seal them and help protect from burning.

Like I said already, it helps even skin tone.

-Highlight your hair.
Yep, that’s right. Squeeze the juice out of a lemon. Take the strands of hair you want to
be highlighted and coat them liberally with the juice. Go sit in the sun! I’m serious, this
really works. I used to do this with my friends when I was in middle school.


Avocado
!

-Moisturizing mask.
Mash up the avocado until it’s a smooth paste and apply it to your face like a mask.
Relax and leave on for 20 minutes. Rinse thoroughly and feel how soft your skin is!

-Get rid of puffy under eyes.
Peel the avocado, cut in half and remove the pit. Next slice it into quarter inch crescent
shapes. Lay down, relax, and put these under your eyes. Leave for at least 20 minutes
before you remove them. Then go about your day looking a little more refreshed.

I hope all of this helped, and that you can will find great use out of these groceries beauty
products. Enjoy your new recipes for the body.

You are beautiful, there is no one else that has or will walk this Earth that is just like you!
Don’t forget it.

Here’s to you! May you be a healthier, happier you-with a little extra change in your pockets.
-Ashley

(For the rest of the list check out Recipes for the Body Part 2)

Comments
2 Responses to “Recipes for the Body (part 1)”
  1. Donna Griffin says:

    salt is good for detox baths-1 cup of salt in the bathtub as hot as you can stand it
    also I like almond oil on my face-but nice to know if I run out I can use the olive oil in the kitchen

    enjoyed the other suggestions!!!

Leave a Reply

  • Congratulations! You scrolled all the way to the bottom! Not everyone does that, but you're different and I really like you. :] Please leave a comment and let me know what you think of the site.
  • Contrary to popular belief it IS possible to leave a comment on here without being a "member". You can click "Guest" and just type in your name and email. (Don't worry, your email will not be displayed in any way.)
  • Or you can login with your facebook or twitter account! Either way, it's totally possible! Ha! I love you guys and I can't wait to hear from you!
