Succeeding at Doing Nothing Successful in 25 Steps

[photo credit: zoeelyn]

Happy November everyone! I love starting a new month… because I get to flip the page on my
calendar! Sounds silly, I know, but it’s refreshing. Anyway, as you can see, I did not post yesterday.
In fact, I spent the day doing nothing. How in the world did I do that? Well, that seems like a good
enough DIY to me!


How To Successfully Do Nothing Successful

1. Do not get out of bed, unless it is to grab some food, use the restroom, or move to the couch.

2. Do not change or brush your hair.
[Granted… you may look like this-but hey, who cares! It’s a nothing day!]

3. Watch ridiculous shows for free on Hulu until good tv comes on.
(Or you could play video games if your XBOX works…)

4. Stay on Pintrest for a couple of hours looking at things like this::

5. Eat left overs out of the fridge… or you could order out.
(The only rule is, you have to eat it in bed or on the couch.)

6. Keep some snacks by the bed. (Make sure to keep some fruit and water close by–we’re not trying
to dehydrate here. I recommend eating half of a container of orange tic-tacs progressively through
out the day when you’re too sucked into what you’re watching to go get up.)

7. Avoid doing what you planned on doing. (Like putting up a new post on your blog.)

8. Stand up. Stretch. Scratch your head. Sit back down.

9. Watch something that you think is silly, overrated, or “lame”.
(Secretly enjoy it!)

10. Get back on Pintrest to see if anything interesting happened while you were gone, or better yet, try
StumbleUpon this time where you’ll find blogs like mine or blogs like this::

11. Take the dog out. Feed her. Pat her on the head and tell her she’s a good dog.
(Now, if you have ACTUAL children as opposed to animals like me, let them veg out with you! Tell
them it’s a daytime pajama party where you get to eat junk food, do fun things, and cuddle all while
being quiet. OR if that’s impossible, and you know they need to get exercise or they’ll be a pain getting
to sleep tonight… tie a string to your dog’s collar, enough that it trails behind it for a couple of feet,
and get the dog to run around. The cat will begin to chase the dog, and the children will follow closely
behind laughing hysterically. Don’t worry, most dogs will find this incredibly fun! At least my dog does.)

12. Climb back in bed and pull the covers up to your chin.
(Concentrate on how comfortable it is.)

13. Pull the covers over your head and pretend you’re in a cave looking for a lost world.

14. Go on Facebook and ignore all notifications and messages.

15. Leave Facebook for YouTube, type in “funny,” and laugh at the silly things that come up.

16. Once you’ve wasted two hours on that, stare out your window and try to memorize where the sun
is shining. (You’ll be needing this in an hour.)

17. Take in a deep breath. Yawn. Squeeze your eyes shut then pop them open as wide as you can.

18. Wish your hunny was home. Smile and pray they’re having a good day. (Sneaking a little success
into your day.)

19. While laying down, stretch your arms and legs as far as they’ll go. (While you are doing this,
everything will become strangely quiet in your head… feel free to make a loud yelling sound now.)

20. Laugh out loud. ESPECIALLY if you’re the only one there. It’s strange to laugh with no one else
around. Enjoy it. If you have nothing to laugh about, fake it. Seriously, try out at least 8 fake laughs
without stopping until you actually laugh for real. It’s weird, it works every time! (Don’t think too
seriously about counting your 8 laughs… it will distract you and it won’t work. HAHA!)

21. Go brush your teeth, your breath is terrible.

22. Take a shower, you stink.

23. Brush your hair and put some new clothes on.

24. Climb back in bed, look back out the window, and see where the sun is shining now.

25. Look confused when your “Ricky” comes home and asks you what you’ve been doing all day.
Say “I could’ve sworn I cleaned up! It must have been a dream…” Smile and pretend you’re
Lucy!

There you go. You’ve successfully done nothing successful. Don’t worry, everyone is allowed
to take a “nothing day” every now and then. It’s good for the mind to relax sometimes.
This is simply a reminder to not take life so seriously all the time. It’s okay to still be young
in heart. I regularly say I haven’t aged a day over 4. My body kept growing, but my heart
and mind are still coloring with crayons in my favorite coloring book. (Which right now is my
Spongebob coloring book I got from the dollar store! Although, my yellow crayon keeps getting
lower and lower. I’m beginning to wish Spongebob changed colors every now and then.) Yes,
I do still love to color and that’s totally okay. This is the REAL reason people want kids… so
they can play with all the toys and color all they want without being called immature or strange!
Hahahahaa… In all seriousness though, lighten up! It’s okay to be like little children. In fact,
scripture says “Truly I say to you, unless you repent (change, turn about) and become like
little children (trusting, lowly, loving, forgiving), you can never enter the Kingdom of Heaven
(at all). [Matthew 18:13 Amplified] Children naturally are fearless, confident, and trusting.
They’re not afraid that they’re not going to be successful at something and they don’t feel bad
when they don’t accomplish something “successful” during the day. They’re perfectly happy
saying “we got to lay in the bed in our PJs, watch movies, hide under the covers, watch the
light from the sun shining on the trees, and chasing the pets around the house.” In fact, those
are things they would brag about!
We should be no different! Be happy, no matter your situation, and no matter your age. Be
happy. It’s simply that simple. God is enough for me. Is He enough for you?

Comments
4 Responses to “Succeeding at Doing Nothing Successful in 25 Steps”
  1. hungry4momos says:

    I had one of those days on saturday. And wrote a similar blog about my “nothing day”. At first I was conflicted, realising that I should probably feel some kind of guilt….but then I just relaxed into it. It was awesome.

    My exploits detailed below! Enjoy! Great post 🙂
    http://wp.me/pUnox-2n

  2. chatroulette says:

    Heya i am for the first time here. I found this board and I find It really useful & it helped me out a lot. I hope to give something back and aid others like you aided me.

Leave a Reply

  • Congratulations! You scrolled all the way to the bottom! Not everyone does that, but you're different and I really like you. :] Please leave a comment and let me know what you think of the site.
  • Contrary to popular belief it IS possible to leave a comment on here without being a "member". You can click "Guest" and just type in your name and email. (Don't worry, your email will not be displayed in any way.)
  • Or you can login with your facebook or twitter account! Either way, it's totally possible! Ha! I love you guys and I can't wait to hear from you!
